HUDSON–The Hudson River Historic Boat Restoration and Sailing Society invited community members last weekend to inspect the racing sloop, The Eleanor, in her new home at 99 South 3rd Street, the Hudson waterfront warehouse that formerly housed the L&B Furniture Company. The historic gaffed sloop is the last surviving example of a “raceabout” racing boat.
Louise Bliss whose father, Captain Philip Egan, owned and operated the boat between 1952 and 1998, took on the project of organizing the restoration of the sailing vessel after other options fell through. The Eleanor, designed by Clinton Crane and commissioned in 1902, was built at the Wood’s Boatyard on City Island in New York City. She was owned by the Livingston family between 1927 and 1952.
The Eleanor is listed in U.S. National Register of Historic places and the New York State Register of Historic places.
The current restoration project will bring boat building back to Hudson by providing apprenticeship experience to young artisans. Once the vessel is seaworthy, it will offer sailing experience to community residents. A number of local businesses have already helped in the nonprofit society’s efforts.
Jason O’Tool Real Estate and Grossinger Management, which owns and operates the L&B furniture building, arranged for an affordable space. Joe Kenneally stored the boat on his property and set it up in the space. Anderson Boat Haulers, Herrington’s, electrician David Gallardo, Nick Haddad, and Crawford Associates all contributed time, materials and skill to the effort. The society is looking for members and donors.
To find out more about the Eleanor go to www.hudsonriverhistoricboat.org.