Copake to focus on hamlet and farmland in 2013

COPAKE—The new year is underway and the Copake Town Board got together January 2 to make sure it is organized to handle all that 2013 might bring.

In a phone interview this week, Town Supervisor Jeff Nayer said his goals are to keep town finances in good shape by monitoring spending and saving wherever possible to build up the reserve funds the town once had. Looking ahead, he said the town will strive to get downtown flourishing again and will be working on policies related to agriculture and farmland protection with a $25,000 grant secured for that purpose.

In organizational business, the board approved the following measures: accepting county and state bids for materials and equipment; an inter-municipal cooperation agreement with Ancram, Hillsdale, Taconic Hills School District, Taghkanic and Austerlitz to share resources in the undertaking of public works and other municipal improvement projects and services; entered into an agreement with Highway Superintendent Bill Gregory detailing how Highway Department funds will be spent throughout the year, including specific improvement, repair and maintenance projects and supplies; specific wages, holidays, vacation and sick days for Highway Department employees per their current contract; authorizing the town supervisor to invest town funds for the year in day of deposit and day of withdrawal CD accounts;

Appointments: Kenneth J. Dow, Esq., attorney for the town; Rapport, Meyers LLP, town council on Cascino matters; Sickler, Torchia, Allen & Churchill CPAs PC town accountant; Supervisor Nayer budget officer; Edward Ferratto code enforcement officer with an evaluation of the department at the end of six months;  Lawrence O. Proper registrar of vital statistics; Vana S. Hotaling deputy registrar of vital statistics; Margaret Hosier part-time court clerk and Janet Glover part-time deputy court clerk; Lynn Connelly assessor’s clerk; Michael Bradway park superintendent; Wes Powell dog control officer; Columbia-Greene Human Society animal shelter; Councilperson Jeanne Mettler deputy supervisor; Gloria Lyons town historian; Vana Hotaling deputy town clerk/tax collector; Timothy Albright deputy highway superintendent; Robin Bruce in charge of Williams Cemetery; Theresa Traver town bookkeeper; Ronald Piper building custodian and booking agent; Veronique Fabio as zoning board secretary; Lisa DeConti as Planning Board secretary; Bridget Roberts summer park director; Coleen Miller summer park assistant director; Sean Carbine computer consultant.

Designations: The Columbia Paper the Register-Star official newspapers for the town; Key Bank official depository; Copake Town Hall is designated District #1 and the Copake Memorial Park Building District #2 polling places.

Set the regular town board meeting on the second Thursday of each month at 7 p.m. with exception of August which will be held the second Saturday of the month at 9 a.m.;  set mileage reimbursement rate at 55.5 cents (IRS rate) for the use of private vehicles on town business.

Set the following salaries: highway superintendent $53,799, bi-weekly; supervisor $ 12,875, monthly; justice (2) $10,300, monthly; council (4) $3,605, monthly; town clerk/collector $29,554, monthly; deputy town clerk hourly $14, monthly; sole assessor $28,000, bi-weekly; code enforcement officer $18,000, monthly; deputy code enforcement officer $5,500, monthly; part-time court clerk hourly $14.21, bi-weekly; part-time deputy court clerk hourly $13.80, bi-weekly; historian $400, yearly; park superintendent $7,725, bi-weekly; custodian/booking agent $15,000, bi-weekly; dog control $3,400, monthly; assessor’s clerk $11, bi-weekly; planning secretary $13.80, bi-weekly; ZBA secretary $11, bi-weekly; summer park director $3,750, bi-weekly 6 weeks; summer park assistant director $2,500, bi-weekly 6 weeks; town bookkeeper $20, bi-weekly.

Supervisor Nayer made the following liaison appointments: Councilperson Gabaccia Planning Board, Ethics Board; Councilperson Winchell-Sweeney Zoning Board of Appeals, Economic Advisory Board, Conservation Resources Committee; Councilperson Miller-Simmons Parks and Rec, Environmental Committee, LUR, Assessor; Councilperson Mettler Library, Hamlet Revitalization Committee, Agricultural & Farmland Protection Committee, Roe Jan Museum;  Supervisor Nayer Highway Department; Town Board street lights and insurance, refuge and auditing.

To contact Diane Valden email .



Comments are closed.