Two appointments bring ICC school board to full strength

KINDERHOOK–The Ichabod Crane School Board interviewed five candidates for two vacant board seats at their regular meeting on Tuesday and appointed Barbara-anne Johnson-Heimroth and Michael Stead as the new members. They will be sworn in at the October meeting.

Daniel Cohn, Robert Gibbs, Ms. Johnson-Heimroth, Steven Michalek and Mr. Stead all applied for the seats that were left open by the resignations of Tricia Mavrides and Kyle Aschenbrenner. The terms will expire in June 2016.Ms. Johnson-Heimroth was a member of the school board until last July. She lost her bid for reelection in May. At the September 8 meeting, while being interviewed by the board, she said as a small business owner of a daycare service in the district, she could bring the board the perspective of an employer and, as an early childhood care provider, she could see what children coming into the district would need. Ms. Johnson-Heimroth has a degree in early childhood education. She was elected to the board first in 2012.

Mr. Stead is a 4th grade teacher in the Chatham School District. He talked about bringing what he’s learned as a teacher to the board, especially all the changes that have affected teachers with the additions of the Common Core curriculum and performance reviews for teachers. He said the primary role of the board member is to listen to “make the best choices for the kids.”

Mr. Stead as well as candidates Cohn and Michalek have children who attend Ichabod Crane. Mr. Stead’s children are in the primary school.

“All five of you are very qualified,” Superintendent George Zini said to the candidates. Board President Anthony Welcome urged all the candidates to run for the board in May, when there will be three seats open for election. The seats Ms. Johnson-Heimroth and Mr. Stead were appointed to will be open as well as Mr. Welcome’s seat.

Also at the meeting:

  • The board appointed members of the AIDS Education Advisory Council to review the districts HIV/AIDS and sex education curriculum. The council members are: school board members John Chandler and Regina Rose; Alex Mangione-Smith; student board member; teachers Tracy Nytransky, Adam Vooris and Maureen Sgambelluri; High School Principal Craig Shull; Guidance Counselor Melissa Vooris; District Administrator Melissa Murray; Dr. William Murphy; Rev. Stark Jones; community members Patsy Leader and Jill Rothwein; and Valerie Spensieri, a parent
  • Mr. Zini reported that Tuesday, the opening day of school, went smoothly. He said the board would be getting a transportation report about bus passes for students getting off at different bus stops on different days of the week at their October meeting. “It’s something to revisit,” said Mr. Zini
  • Updating the board on the capital improvement projects in the district, Mr. Zini said software is being loading to the swipe card locks at the high school. And he said the electronic sign was in place and working in front of the high school on Route 9.

The next board meeting will be October 6 at 7 p.m. in the High School Library.

To contact reporter Emilia Teasdale email .



Comments are closed.